Happy Halloween

Update: The idea turned out well – I got about 100 kids and Dan showed up dressed as an angel.

Our spook house, or, “Cabinet of Curiosity”, was a long maze with lots of optical illusions. There was a bridge through a spinning tunnel, people dressed as the backdrops, different elevations, etc… Haunted houses feel surreal (because they aren’t “real”) and reflecting on them feels like a dream, which is why I like them so much.

I also did a corn maze earlier this month, which ended up being 3 frustrating miles of walking.

Me: (to Dan upon entering) What’s a gay man’s fantasy?
Dan: *shrug*
Me: Walking backwards in a corn field!
Dan: (unamused expression and corrective tone) No, it’s not.

We ran into a collaboration of Christian groups who were figuring out which way to go, and it went like this:

“We’re Blah Blah Blah, on a youth activity.”
“So are we! We’re Blah Blah Blegh!”
(To me) “What church are you from!?”
“Um. Corunna.”
“Corunna Church?”
“No. Corunna the town.”
“…ohhh! Hey, Whomever, we need to sing a song about this!” <– proceeded to sing hymns, replacing certain words with “stalk” and “walk”.

I fantasized about the thing from Jeepers Creepers swooping down and saving me.

too bad my brother isn’t here
once imbecile reached his ear
he’d cut you up so you’d need stitches,
asinine sonsabitches

And this concludes Octoberfest.

My LiveJournal Trick-or-Treat Haul
great_dame goes trick-or-treating, dressed up as a Bride.
ashcanprobably gives you 14 mauve grapefruit-flavoured nuggets.
cynosure tricks you! You lose 1 pieces of candy!
evilgeniuskatie gives you 10 orange cola-flavoured gummy bears.
hcl gives you 12 light yellow grapefruit-flavoured hard candies.
meatcurtains gives you 6 light green root beer-flavoured miniature candy bars.
mythfish gives you 9 teal licorice-flavoured miniature candy bars.
reverendmarley gives you 11 light orange coffee-flavoured nuggets.
shalifi gives you 15 yellow raspberry-flavoured miniature candy bars.
swingtheory gives you 9 light blue cola-flavoured gummy bats.
twoscoopsmsu gives you 16 white grape-flavoured pieces of chewing gum.
great_dame ends up with 101 pieces of candy.
 
Another fun meme brought to you by rfreebern.
20 responses to “Happy Halloween

  1. Hi Autumn May! You are so cool because 1. you want to see what kids dress up like, and 2. you want to take advantage of your grandma’s internet to get Green Day (!!) and britney bootlegs. I’m going to eat pizza and watch movies with my friend and her family – then pass out candy too. I think we’ll see lots of spider-men this year.

  2. Happy Halloween yourself, see any good holiday movies recently? :D

    Excellent pumpkins! I should’ve carved one this year, I haven’t done it in ages. I wouldn’t carved a goatse pumpkin (it’s a non-dirty link).

    Hey, I was talking with a friend about this: I’ve noticed (in my experiences) that most older people (around the 60’s+) prefer hard candies to softer candies. It’d be an interesting sociological study; I’m sure there would be several reasons for it, but I like the idea of studying it. Have you noticed anything similar? My grandparents always had a big dish of hard candies out whenever I was there to visit.

    • Addendum:

      I’m sorry for getting you ’11 light orange coffee-flavoured nuggets,’ those don’t sound too good. I hope you can at least trade them for something a bit nastier, if you’re so inclined :9

      And toss out Tobin’s candy. Right now. Chances are, there are razorblades in his candy bars. You can trust people who work for Sun (he has a company blog!) and have platinum blonde hair. I want his dildos.

      PS How’s Friendster going? I saw you listed Tarantino listed under your movies, have you seen any of the movies he wrote scripts for (true romance, natural born killers (though, i guess that doesn’t count), etc)?

      Hope you’ve enjoyed your Halloween!

      • Hey, now. Didn’t Sun give us Java? I like my capabilities.

        Oh, sure. Warn me as I’m throwing the empty wrappers away.

        And yeah – I’ve seen em all. Golden True Romance Quote: It’s better to have a gun and not need it, than to need a gun and not have it.

        Did you know Val Kilmer’s Elvis in that flick?

      • Yeah. How much does he pay you people to throw those lines.

        A “free spirited hottie” + Heart emoticon?! Can you crush any harder?

        I’d be envious, too, if someone was smarter than I and all of my fellow Asians, put together.

        Dammit. He doesn’t even play the piano. I’M DESIRABLE TOO YOU KNOW!

        *pouts*

      • You people?! …he pays us well. Very well. *counts his Dinar*

        Everything you said is true, but he falls into that stereotype of “everything in California is, like, so much hotter~” …and besides, he looks like Adam Sessler :o

      • I’d pay you better. You know what I’m talkin’ bout.

        I don’t understand why so many people are drawn to pay 100 times as much to live in sunlight. Do you really need to run into Pauly Shore in his boxers, on your way to the newsstand? *winces*

        Adam is reminiscent of Mr. Coziahr, but only because I squinted and cocked my head.

        P.S. Friendster is going well. You really need to check out my friends list – I managed to find some golden winners (love the photo, by the way). Rocky and Dead Mike are the ones who look like they especially know how to party. There’s a creepy black man on my list who keeps messaging me with poetry having to deal with my red hair.

        This guy invited me to New York and I wanted to go, based on profile photo alone:
        http://friendster.com/user.php?uid=23310

    • I hope I always carve pumpkins.

      My father’s parents had a jar of multi-colored hard candies, much like mints only not necessarily…minty in flavor. And my mother’s parents had those little butterscotch candies lying around, often. Maybe it has something to do with a more sensitive stomach and not being able to each as much, hence the sucking on one, small piece rather than a candy bar?

  3. I had a very Rocky weekend…saw the movie on campus Friday night, saw it in Arlington with a cast Saturday night. Did screamers both nights, and now I’m hoarse. Tonight however, I just did laundry and now I’m at work. Oh, and it rained. So I had fun giggling with my roommate at the thought of kids stuck in the downpour. I’m a bad person.

  4. Cute punkins!!

    I liked last years pumpkins you had also- this year is not too terrible either :)

    Oh yeah, please feel free to check out this community- I am already a friend of yours and noticed you like posting pics sometimes- well this is a good community to do that in-and you could bring a new genre of style I think!! I forgot how to add a link to another journal- but it is this username: thecultjam

    Much love-take care hun

  5. a couple years ago the church goeres in Eudora decided that we should no have holloween because its… you know, the devils day. they made some excuses like… the football game… too dangerous but in the end they fessed up that it was… the devils day… it did’t work. thats what you get when christians infiltrate normal society.

Leave a Reply

