Reflections and Modifications

1. What did you do in 2004 that you’d never done before?

First time things that come to mind:

I met someone in person from Live Journal.
I opened a savings account.
I learned the joy of Aeropostale hoodies and low-carb Monster energy drinks.
I got into some science fiction and it put metallic elements into my dreams.
I passed out Halloween candy.
Saw several entire anime titles beyond Sailor Moon.
I flew (in a jet).
Enrolled in kickboxing.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I didn’t make any, for this year; my plan was to Not Die. I think I’m in better spirits this time around, and have started on my new year’s resolutions early. Hopefully they’ll stick!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My father’s dad passed away.

5. What countries did you visit?
I’m not really ready to travel and I don’t know where I’d necessarily care to go.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?
I was disappointed to miss Bruce Springsteen and Green Day, this year. I intend to correct that asap. I miss the magic of seeing my heroes.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Probably the 4th of July, because the fireworks at the park were fantastic, and the retarded girl dancing to the local band was awesome. I’ll also remember the twins’ birthday on the last day in November, because I had a blast “babysitting” before taking off and driving the farthest I’ve ever driven by myself. I’ll remember the water park, where I went down a water slide for the first time since a childhood accident. I’ll remember daring a friend to eat my frog’s bloodworms with me. There are a lot of things that I doubt I could forget.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Waking up from a lot of false truths. Without anyone else’s influence, I’ve made up my own mind about a lot of things, and it’s great to believe in where I stand on religion, politics, and humanity in general. I also feel more comfortable in my own skin (by sticking with a healthier lifestyle) than I ever have, and it has made life a lot richer.

9. What was your biggest failure?
I neglected to keep in touch with a lot of people who care about me. I also recently had a friend completely disconnect himself from me because I handled our relationship poorly. Even though some knew of my journal, called frequently to catch me over the phone, or came up and banged on the front door, I didn’t do my part with very many friendships. In addition, I put off going back to school and that left me disappointed with myself.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I had extreme emotional highs and lows, battled depression and occasionally swallowed toxic chemicals in self-punishment for nothing in particular. I abused laxatives the first half of the year. In mid December, I caught the flu.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A new backpack burner!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
That would take forever. I’m proud of just about everyone I know. Everyone seems to be doing well in school or moving up in some way.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
There really wasn’t anyone in my life this year who disgusted me, which was a nice change.

14. Where did most of your money go?
To an Ebay alternative, http://www.laundromatic.net, where a lot of girlie things are sold and traded. Most of my money went into those transactions. A lot (too much) went to dining out and movie tickets, which I’ve decided is ridiculous and needs to become much less frequent. Although my dad paid for it, I used up a lot of gas in the vehicles, too.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
There wasn’t a whole lot that I technically anticipated or just wouldn’t wait to do/see/hear. As corny as it sounds, I got pretty happy when I heard Green Day was releasing another album, and when my favorite 80’s cartoon (Jem) went to DVD. Any time Britney Spears has a concert special or something, I dance around a little bit, beforehand. I concentrated a lot more on appreciating whatever was going on at the moment, than what was up ahead. Whenever I was out or with good company, I was pretty excited.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?
I don’t sort memories into years – my memories are difficult to date. Some things might have a song attached to them loosely, but it won’t have any connection to the year, in my mind. Billy Joel’s “We Didn’t Start the Fire” performance in 2000 is about the only year-stamped memory I have, because it was 2000 and my favorite musician was singing his song about the decades.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Much happier.
ii. thinner or fatter? 10 pounds heavier from the lowest I got. DAMN CHINESE FOOD AND STUFFED CRUST PIZZA!
iii. richer or poorer? I have less money, but now I have all these kick ass toys and I feel rich!

18. What do you wish you’d done more?
Refused dinner proposals that weren’t for Subway. That’s about it!

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I wish I hadn’t gotten so downhearted, so many times. I’ve been on a great streak for a while now, but if I dive again it’s going to fucking suck. That shit was terrible.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
My family will open gifts in front of the tree and then we’ll have dinner and presents with my mom’s side of the family, at least. I also intend to visit Crossroads Village while the lights are up, and do a lot of winter-related things this season.

21. Did you fall in love in 2004?
Maybe.

22. How many one-night stands?
Never any.

23. What was your favorite TV program?
Sopranos, Invader Zim, Queer As Folk, Family Guy, Sex and the City, all rented in previous seasons once my video store carried them. The only TV I actually turn on is music television and world news.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Nope!

25. What was the best book you read?
Vurt, by Jeff Noon

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Oh my god, I found too many great things to mention. Some of the most fun are the newer musicals, Wicked, Avenue Q, Urine Town, etc. I learned a lot about electro, Japanese rock and pop, and really love Dolly Parton’s Little Sparrow album.

27. What did you want and got?
A little of everything…sometimes, a lot. More than I had planned.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
Garden State or Hero or Closer or Kill Bill 2 or Eternal Sunshine or Shaun of the Dead or Butterfly Effect or Man On Fire. Guilty of Liking, also: Uptown Girls.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I don’t remember, but I’m sure I got some cool stuff.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
The Mongolian herb and amazing upper, Ephedra.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?
I went with comfort. Athletic pants, tee shirts, sweatshirts. When I had to dress nice, I went with long skirt and nice shirts. Don’t do hair. Got into black eyeliner. Fell in love with bracelets and collected many, made some of my own.

32. What kept you sane?
Media, food, all the things I live for. I let family and friends talk some sense into me, but not too much.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Britney, who is also the most entertaining and is ALWAYS doing something interesting.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
The war in Iraq. I don’t think we should be in other countries, dying.

35. Who did you miss?
I missed Jenni Lynn who actually found me at LJ, later on! And I miss my friend Mandi and her siblings. I miss my boyfriends in Flint, but I stopped driving out there and they never came out to the country.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
Jason is new – he’s one of the best. And although he has always been around, I’ve gotten to know Brad a lot better. There are several computy people whose personalities seemed to really take off and stick with me in an elite group sort of way. My new dentist is pretty hot.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:
Don’t believe anything until it makes logical sense. Don’t mix lime pie with pink champaign. Read the fine print on all Ebay auctions.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

tell me who is your boogieman
that’s who I will be
you don’t have to like me for who I am
but we’ll see what you’re made of
by what you make of me

I got friends all over this country
I got friends in other countries too
I got friends I haven’t met yet
I got friends I never knew

-Willing To Fight, Ani Difranco

13 responses to “Reflections and Modifications

  1. “Mommy, Mommy! Baby Jesus just got eaten by a white tiger!”

    Heeeee! I know you had much more relevant things to offer in the post other than that, but the Sigfried & Roy nativity scene was the highlight of my day.

  2. From reading this I’ve gotten a good feel for a lot of things we seem to have in common, or things you have told about you this year that I have done or felt in the past or currently. This has made me want to fill this out myself, and as far as keeping you.. I never thought otherwise. =)

    • heh

      First heard of her back in high school when a friend handed me a cassette tape of Dilate. I went home and didn’t really like it until months and months later… but I eventually caught on. :)

      • Re: heh

        yeah i didn’t like her until a certain point in high school because i was in the middle of a stage where i hated female musicians. once i got over it i was all about her. she went to my highschool.

  3. Hooray! I’m glad I met you this year!

    I have one of those little simpsons toys pictured also. I love that little guy. I still look for the zombie Principal Skinner in the action figure dump bins at Goodwill…

    • Good luck!

      I assume you’ve tried Ebay? Maybe there’s a specialty store that has him in stock, online. I find that a lot of parents bag their kids’ figures in sacks and sell em on Ebay – you have to stare at the auction photo and see who’s in there. :)

  4. My sister was a big Jem fan, and even though I pretended not to like it, I actually thought it was kinda cool. I was going to buy her the DVDs for Xmas, but they’re way more expensive than they should be.

    • :)

      You know, I agree. I think it was some $50 for Seasons 1 and 2. Luckily, I was spending Xmas monies – I never would have dropped that much of my own.

      My brother likes The Misfits. He’s familiar with the theme song where they go, “our songs are better” and he says, “and they WERE!”

Leave a Reply

