Main Course of action

The other night, I found myself 30 minutes away at an ungodly hour, sitting down to eat at a place that never closes. When the waiter asked what I was doing, awake and all, I promptly informed him, “Haunted by my past. Couldn’t sleep.”

Thoughts have been bubbling. Rather than ignore them, I’ve been letting them play out. An old friend has been a large part of it. And that’s all there is to it.

A group of us were sitting out by the fire last night. My brother said, “Where’s Mandi?” as though she hadn’t been gone, years, for reasons well understood.

“She should be here,” he told me.

For the first time in forever, she appeared online and left traces of herself at a blog. The coincidence is just enough to remind me of the kind of reality I sleep off.

“It seems as though the battle of life has just begun. Some believe it starts at birth but I know for a fact the battle starts as soon as you hit rock bottom for the umteenth million time…”

So what do I do, so low on sleep? Throw an oversized hoodie over my pajama pants and hit another cafe. I’ll act brainless over a plate of sausage gravy and biscuits.

Sounds like a plan.

9 responses to “Main Course of action

  1. So what do I do, so low on sleep? Throw an oversized hoodie over my pajama pants and hit another cafe. I’ll act brainless over a plate of sausage gravy and biscuits.

    Sounds like a plan.

    It seems to work for me… but… I wish they were low calorie buscuits and gravy.

  2. So what do I do, so low on sleep?

    Go grab the past, and drive a stake through its heart. Then sit there and watch it as it dies. For good this time.

    On a more exultant note, I’ve been waiting for that quote function in comments for FOREVER. My Livejournal experience is now immensely more pleasant.

    -Mr. Too Cool to Sign In

    • I have an idea for a stupidly insane social experiment that involves grabbing the past, simply because I technically can. 99% of the figures are still alive and I’m bound to make that mistake – I just know it.

  3. Well you could come to Adrian on the morning/early afternoon of the 21st, spend the day with me and eat Rally’s spicy chicken sammiches at 4am…that usually works for me.

    We can also, if you get here early, do any of the following

    1. picnic in Trestle Park
    2. Walk the trestle trail
    3. Drink around the fire if it is nice
    4. Drive to Ann Arbor and spend a day (t)here (I am at work).

    We could even do the Trestle stuff on Friday and come to Ann Arbor on Thursday, sadly I will have to return to work on Saturday.

    Sounds like a plan right?!?!?!

    • Hellz yeah! I’ll mark it on the calendar.

      BTW, I have some weird Asian movie for you – Koma. Dan says he read a lot of praise for it so I’ve rented it along with JUNK. Be looking for them soon.

Leave a Reply

