Saturated in CD-Rs

Back when my resources were limited, radio play provided my choices. If I heard a song that I really liked I could record it to cassette with static and DJ overtones or purchase that artists’ album at the store for around $16.00. I’ve also taken gambles on music that friends and family listen to because there’s a certain hope for a sound getting approved by a loved one; it can be exciting to sort though that material, looking for what they hear. Although such methods have helped me to find several favorites, a small clique or mainstream airwave was still only providing me with so much back in junior high.

Sometimes I wonder, how much are you a fan of an artist if you only like 60-80 minutes of music from hundreds of songs they put out? I’ve just finished my own “The Only Bowie Cd You’ll Ever Need” and personal companion to Marilyn Manson’s greatest hits cd “The Other Mary Manson Mix” and then trashed sixteen albums of theirs for 3-4 solid compilations to my taste.

I can’t agree that piecing together your own music for free isn’t wrong, but it’s a bitch to have to invest at least $80 for the five cds I only want a few tracks from. $80 a cd of art that you put into the air… Damn. I guess if I don’t agree with what I have to do then I shouldn’t do it and should shut up about it – get over not having the songs I want. I do happen to have 200 originals stacked on a shelf that I approve of – I can go listen to them. Which brings me back to the beginning of this whole thing…

Even though the MP3 and cd burning journey to other genres and recording studios around the world has resulted in a dream fulfilled, sometimes I reflect on the early years and wonder…

Did I spend hours playing an entire album all the way through on repeat because I could enjoy an artists’ work more back then, or did it have to do with the determination to get my money’s worth as I developed thorough concepts of what little music I had? Was there genuine appreciation to be found after so many B side settlements? Was I happier when it was either Nirvana’s Nevermind or the Dumb and Dumber soundtrack?

Stone Head Art

8 responses to “Saturated in CD-Rs

  1. Ok, So. I’m gonna be a greedy bitch

    I know that you have contributed to over half of my collection, but there are alot that i would LOVE to have. If you can’t give me all of them. I put these (*) next to the ones I REALLY want… A bitch needs unpacking music! (i move tuesday!)

    Alanis – Unplugged*
    Ani Difranco – Puddle Dive*
    Ani Difranco – To the Teeth
    Bitch & Animal -Sour Juice
    Bjork – Homogenic*
    Cure -Greatest Hits
    My Chemical Romance – I Brought You My*
    Tori Amos – Boys For Pele
    Tori Amos – Crucify*
    Tori Amos – Strange Little Girls*
    Kanye West – College Dropout
    Chemical Brothers – Come With Us
    Geri Halliwell – Remixes and B Sides* (never got the remixes)
    Judy Garland – Stormy Weather* (a fags collection can’t me complete w/o judy!)
    Russian Skate Punk – various*
    Legally Blonde

    • Re: Ok, So. I’m gonna be a greedy bitch

      Alanis – Unplugged*
      Ani Difranco – Puddle Dive*
      Ani Difranco – To the Teeth
      Bitch & Animal -Sour Juice
      Bjork – Homogenic*
      Kanye West – College Dropout
      Chemical Brothers – Come With Us
      Geri Halliwell – Remixes and B Sides* (never got the remixes)
      Judy Garland – Stormy Weather* (a fags collection can’t me complete w/o judy!)
      Russian Skate Punk – various*
      Legally Blonde, CHECK. ALSO, do you want the Rent movie soundtrack?

      PICK A DAY AND GET YOUR ASS OVER HERE TO PICK EM UP. I’m not spending THAT many stamps on your ass.

  2. Free music? You’re my hero. It’s funny you’re making this post now though…I am at this very moment going through all my CDs and ripping them to mp3, thinking similar thoughts.

    I’m quite interested in Blood Brothers and Rufus – Poses. Oh, and there’s more but I’ll give other people a chance.

  3. I’m so different. I’m such a total listen-to-the-album-all-the-way-through girl. The mark of a great band is if they can write an entire album of good songs. There are just so many lackluster bands that write one decent song.

Leave a Reply

