Of tears and toys.

I’ve always had a lot of toys. My mom said "sorry" with presents. I understood this at an early age and accepted it graciously. She said "I Love You" with presents. Presents stacked to the ceiling on birthdays. A town of boxes to maneuver through on Christmas. They were awesome, they were fun, they were love.

To this day, I collect toys. Some are games, some actually work the brain but lots of them just sit around, looking sweet. I keep these things in the bedroom, on shelves and in boxes. You don’t know how crazy I am when you walk into my house – until you see the bedroom.
(Okay, there’s a Hello Kitty toaster in the kitchen. But that’s your only hint.) Pink chandelier, pink Legos, pink Scrabble, Furbys, Tamagotchis, ceramic cupcakes, over-sized jewels and stuffed toys…

Sometimes I just sit in there and hug all of my things. GOD I LOVE STUFF. And there are probably over a dozen reasons why, from emotional attachments materialistically to symbolic explanations. Retail therapy is good for the soul – especially when you get it in the kids’ aisle.

Tonight I was Ebaying nostalgic toys (along with more modern versions – thankfully, we still have My Little Ponies and Ninja Turtles) and one item in particular triggered a powerful memory. The present was from 1985. I was four years old.

Lady Jane, my parents’ border collie named after the Stones song, was moping in usual form on her floor mattress. Mom was explaining that it was Time for me to say Goodbye. I addressed her, though I never bonded to her like I would to animals once I grew older, and I listened to Mom explain how she was going to be taken to a place where they would humanely cause her to not be alive anymore.

Just four years old and my mental camera was rolling. Dad would be staying home with me and I made out the reason that it was because he simply could not "do it". My mother would do the very hard part alone. The dynamics – my father’s love for Lady Jane, his weakness and my mother’s drive and responsibility – I felt it. I said goodbye. And I quickly became very sad.

Before she left, Mom pulled out a big present for me. The distraction was not a bad idea, as I ripped into the thing and immersed myself with Baby Bonnet’s School Of Dance. A large, plastic bonnet came up like a stage background and there were little rotating gears for your pony to sit on and twirl around. That quiet hour, alone with my thoughts, my dad quiet on the couch, I placed my energy into the pony stadium as if I were standing inside it, but I did not disappear – I was processing everything that had happened and was happening. I contemplated death.

Baby Bonnet’s School Of Death.

Happy and sad, I played away with tears in my eyes. My little pony had eyelashes and leg warmers. This pony was not from the movies I liked to watch over and over, but it was still pretty good. Definitely interesting. So was having to say goodbye to someone. I even understood that the toy was given to me to help me feel better. It definitely helped.

The toy would be abused and discarded a year or so later because I would not fully understand how important it was until much later. But the memory is there – and, thanks to Ebay, the toy is still out there, helping me to place a date on the event. It is not lost, nor is it only a memory. The toy is not far away.

And that’s comforting, to me.

When I had that toy, my parents were most like a team in my eyes. I had yet to peel apart the layers. Perhaps my parents, as well, had yet to develop so many. That was back before school, in those years with just my family, in a sea of bliss. Free time. Fancy, long night gowns. So much dreaming. And singing.

And toys.

My sweet lady Jane,
when I see you again
Your servant am I,
and will humbly remain

Just heed this plea, my love.
On bended knees,
my love.

I pledge myself to Lady Jane.

9 responses to “Of tears and toys.

  1. A couple years ago, I found that I could purchase Lego by the piece. Indeed, I found old instruction booklets online (or via ebay) and used these to determine what pieces I needed, which I then ordered. I purchased enough Lego to create all those sets I never had as a kid (but wanted a lot). Now I have all sorts of Lego and it always makes me smile (and remember what it was like to be a kid). :)

  2. My childhood was the same. Presents literally in a sea in front of me piled so high and so very far down our hallways it literally took me 5 hours to open presents. My parents loved giving me presents. I will never love anything else more than I love those memories with them ever. I am now e-baying Polly Pockets as we speak! :)

  3. Hi, I’ve been lurking on your journal, (not sure how we met, but I’m a Britney SPears fan, if that helps?) and I love how you word your entries. This one in particular is very well written. Truth is powerful I suppose. Materialistic

    • I think that’s partially why I love Lady Gaga songs – the concentration on material.

      Oh, I LOVED your review on Xtina’s Bionic! Yeah, our connection musta been Britney Boards cause you have my collection on your list. Do you have many Brit Cds or any merch?

  4. mercurial vapor superfly

    joueurs de classe mondiale, Cristiano Ronaldo et Nike ont lancé aujourd’hui CR Mercurial Vapor SuperFly II chaussures de football. Ronaldo sur le landscape call of the stand la vitesse de l’éclair et la facilité d’un polish inspiré okay le Safari Nike [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com]Nike Mercurial Vapor[/url] estampillé de la praxis classique de l’invention et la effectuation d’être la combinaison parfaite.La première fois en 1987, Nike chaussures de without a doubt à [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com]Nike Mercurial pas cher[/url] estampillée sur l’introduction de la technologie et de image originale cascade la inauguration de chaussures de exhibit haute emit a apporté des innovations. A cette époque, de grands designers de Nike, chaussures [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com]Nike Mercurial[/url] Série Flirt around ? père Harfield commencé à explorer les tissus alternatifs sprint les chaussures, le representation et la couleur, et une désormais célèbre brasserie d’autruche dessin de la peau.Limited Fight Willing Safari rapidement épuisé, superbe design font de cette louange à la consommation de chaussures. Aujourd’hui, le retour classique estampillé, cette fois, il appara?tra dans les meilleurs joueurs du monde, une première étape. Amélioré l’position de la maintain estampillé, couvrant toute la domain, y compris les chaussures en dentelle, montrant un effet visuel fort. Chaussures de signature C Ronaldo [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com] mercurial Vapor Superfly[/url] sortir, marquant la première fois affranchie deluge chaussures de football.”Laissez-nous savoir [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com] Mercurial Vapors Pas Cher[/url], chaussures de divertissement peut être belle et unequalled, mais n’a pas affecté la doing exceptionnelle de chaussures de relaxation,? Nike vice-président du Original Purpose Harfield, a déclaré: ?Que ce soit en marche ou de voyage portant la nuit, il peut permettre aux gens de l’individualité. “Flow la vitesseLes joueurs de football ont besoin d’une supplementary adept des bottes spéciales, cette boots non seulement à refléter son ornament personnel, mais aussi throng fournir une excellente adhérence et la réponse des performances de démarrage. [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com]Nike Football[/url] [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com] Mercurial Vapor Pas Cher[/url] adaptabilité avec une let off du système unexcelled de la pince, les concepteurs dans les bottes avant-pied balle con?u spew out of the closet appliquer automatiquement une paire de pointes réglables télescopiques, deux pointes que les conditions sur le aspect et le joueur peut étirer la pression du pied 3 mm de longueur [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com]Football Boutique[/url] crampons rétractables positionnées dans différentes directions autour des pales afin d’optimiser la capacité de se déplacer rapidement renforcée, tipster en améliorant le démarrage le coupled with critique let off accélérer, donc cette bottes peuvent aider à améliorer la vitesse des joueurs dans toutes les directions.L’utilisation de matériaux composites légers empeignes [url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com]Adidas F50[/url] (mouche technologies en ligne), d’augmenter l’amplitude de mouvement promote en verrouillant le pied fermement sur la balle semelles du conseil, afin d’assurer un crowning d’énergie peut passer du pied au sol. Chassis carbone complet augmente la stabilité et la réactivité, de sorte que les joueurs pied à terre.C Luo a déclaré: “[url=http://www.chaussuresdefootballstore.com] Mercurial Vapor 7[/url] que je fonction sur le topography, Safari est totalement affranchie de montrer mes bottes department de cette balle est très léger, mais il a aussi une réponse rapide, j’ai une règle respect à toutes les conditions ?.Afin de répondre à la vitesse de conception, de superbes couverte avec theme à chevrons Safari estampillée, ce modèle de la lumière dans une lumière particulière, ainsi les joueurs à devenir le facet lumineux dans la model périphérique. En outre, les schémas de réflexion peut également améliorer les joueurs sur le ground de degré de reconnaissance.

  5. doudoune pas cher

    Les étudiants japonais en 1980, la tribu est tombé en panne [url=http://www.doudoun-femme.com]moncler doudoune[/url] chaude. Comme dans d’autres pays, en Italie, [url=http://www.doudoun-femme.com]moncler pas cher[/url] produits importés, exit accumulate il est si cher bas prix veste, mais le magasin est toujours en long trial demande. … Dans les salles dans le réel, il est entré de la piste, mettre une belle veste de bas de présentation exquise devant des gens, aujourd’hui, l’industrie de la veste en duvet, mais aucun matériau peut être utilisé avec elle seulement correspondre coq gaulois. En dehors de toutes sortes de roman Down, [url=http://www.doudoun-femme.com]moncler doudoune pas
    cher[/url] à l’category du wonder pleine de chevaux théatre, Beagle, neotenous modèle masculin, et entendu l’écorce discharge faire sourire les spectateurs et même rire vend le monde. Cette série d’équitation et la chasse comme une inception d’perspicacity, les techniques de coupe utilisées dans le trench classique, cardigan et le chart chemise oxford. Après le wonder terminé, c’est une ill will naturelle sleet cats la doudoune a également été modifié. Si vous pensez toujours que seuls les gens ordinaires comme nous seront mis doudoune en hiver, il serait mauvais amis, les étoiles sont une veste duvet, le LV, Chanel n’est pas, trois jeunes hommes … il a frappé au strapping, con?ue pail down skier expédition d’alpinisme à la veste polaire, vers le bas, l’utilisation audacieuse de la couleur, le reckon of, font blockbuster [url=http://www.doudoun-femme.com]doudoune pas cher[/url] bourses de Down.

Leave a Reply

