Thank You

This was waiting for me when I got up, this morning.

***
I don’t spend much time here anymore, but I didn’t want to miss wishing a happy birthday. My personal feelings about b-days is legendary down here in the dirty south. When I turned 40, I ended a relationship of 7 years over a b-day party, when my only birthday wish was to have NO PARTY. It was the only thing I ever asked her NOT to do for me, and she thought I was being “silly.” When I turned 50 (yes, I’m THAT old now) I consented to having a “this is your life” b-day party. I was asked what I thought was important in my life. I rattled a list off the top of my head and someone had the foresight to write it down. They presented it to me at the end of the night. It was my ex-GF from 10 years before. She was there with someone else, of course. Here’s the list:

Family – It’s how we’re defined
Friends – They keep us honest
Music – Medicine for the mind, body and soul
Books – Friends that help us experience the many facets of life
Love – Nature’s glue to keep the world from flying apart
Laughter – The sound of a contented soul

I have enjoyed reading your thoughts over the years. Some brought me to tears, others left me scratching my head. Still others made me laugh. You are truly the puzzle, wrapped in a mystery inside an enigma. I play my Great Dame’s Spring Mix CD often when I’m driving. My favorite bit is you, in harmony, for your rendition of The Boxer at the end of the CD. I thank you for that, and for being an unseen, yet tangible part of my life. I hope that yours is favored with sunny days, cool nights and many pleasant hours in between. Happy birthday Autumn.

***

Thank you. It means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

