They’re Aliiiive

This morning I went out to water everything when I noticed a peculiar motion in the grass. My hose for the front yard doesn’t have a pressure nozzle because I like how it pours naturally, hitting the ground with full force, which is good for depth. As I quickly filled a few bare spots, creating temporary puddles, something crawled out from the dirt to avoid taking a swim!

BABY TOAD!
He is about the size of my thumbnail.

I keep a small mason glass out there, mingling with the other garden containers, for such a thing! Look how cute. I tossed my hose down and scooped him up for a photo.

I’d like to mention that if you ever want to catch a frog or toad for temporary observation, do not squeeze the animal or it will suffer and die. Carefully cup the area around it, creating a dome with your hand, and slowly curl your fingers under to get a hold of it. Secondly, never throw it in water because it will eventually get tired and drown (frogs and toads need land). Finally, do not set them in the sun because it will burn them. They need to be relatively moist and kept in shade. Do not hold them captive for more than a few minutes.

This guy gives me hope because I have not seen an adult toad for some time. I wonder if it died or just didn’t like my garden.

Just as I had let him go, rinsed the jar and gotten back to watering, I spotted another baby toad. Very cool. And something else jumped onto the concrete that I could tell was not brown and bumpy. I guessed ‘leopard frog’ and reached for my jar, again – but I knew immediately by the way it clung to my hand with tiny, rubbery toes that it was actually…

BABY TREE FROG!


Look at the suction-cup hands!

Tree frogs are special. They can climb. And they seem to have a more laid-back nature, a little less jumpy, than other frogs. Here he is, climbing the glass mason jar:


Covered in a bit of dirt and mulch, I did not attempt to wash him off for his photo op. It is best to leave that alone. (Note also: if you live where there are poisonous frogs, don’t touch any unless you ID it as safe)

And here he is, chilling at the lid (if the frog or toad is able to jump out/down, do not have it more than a couple inches from the ground or it can hurt itself):

As he made his way into the garden I was able to get one more shot:


clinging to crab grass

One response to “They’re Aliiiive

Leave a Reply

