Of Truth and Beauty, Or, You’re Welcome

Image

some looks are effortless

Sakina, a Muslim friend of mine/sideways little sister, has been experiencing a lot of change and heartache during her last year in high school. When I first met her she was rather mousey, withdrawn and honestly, a bit alienating. But we’ve come a long way since then and I take some credit for that, including my serious push to get her eyebrows waxed and open her face to society. I decided to go the ignorant route so that she would have exposure to such idiocy in people, and help her find strength in that fine line where reality is still cruel but laughable just the same.

Out of nowhere the other night she sent one of those feel-good quotes via text. I looked at my phone and knew I wouldn’t be able to leave it alone.

Sakina: Be your own kind of beautiful!

Autumn: Oh. Okay.

Sakina: Lol, what?

Autumn: I dunno. You said it, not me.

Sakina: I know, I like that quote!

Autumn: All girls want to believe they’re beautiful. Even the ugly ones.

Sakina: hahahahahha wtf!

Autumn:  Beauty can be hard, though. Still, it’s the way of the world.

Sakina: But internal beauty…

Autumn: Internal beauty doesn’t matter if no one can see past the mess on the outside.

Sakina: …I just thought it was a nice quote… True beauty should be judged, not your makeup…

Autumn: But if no one can get past those birds nests on your face you’re screwed. Just don’t let your eyebrows grow back. Ever.

Sakina: THANKS AUTUMN.

***

Big thank you to Jeffrey for THIS LINK about perception: Real Beauty Sketches

Leave a Reply

